Our Basic Boating Safety Class meets all New York State certification requirements. Graduates receive the required New York State Boating safety certificate.
Taking a boating class reduces your risk of accidents and injuries and may save you money on boat insurance.
Our eight-hour boating class includes a comprehensive introduction to boating, covering boat types, boat engines, boat selection, and more.
You'll learn about boating laws and regulations as well as boat registration and licensing. You will get in-depth knowledge of boating safety equipment, rules of the road, handling emergencies and mechanical problems on the water, and towing and trailering basics. The course provides important information for boaters including hunters, anglers, water sports enthusiasts, and personal watercraft operators.
Our Advanced Boating Safety Class includes an introduction to Piloting and meets all New York State certification requirements.
Graduates receive the required New York State Boating safety certificate and the ability to plan safe routes.
According to a Suffolk County Marine Bureau officer, "Most boaters get into trouble because they don't know where they are going. … You can't see what's under the water."
Our sixteen-hour boating class includes a comprehensive introduction to piloting sufficient for day trips on coastal waters in addition to all the material covered in our eight-hour Basic Boating Safety Class.
Who needs a Boating Safety Certificate?
Under a new law, known as Brianna's Law, all motorboat operators:
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024.
All motorboat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025.
Anyone operating a Personal Watercraft (JetSki™, Wave Runner™, etc.) must have a boating safety certificate, and be at least 14 years of age or older.
Children must be at least 10 years old to attend. Children between 10 and 12 must be accompanied by a parent or other adult. Children who are 13 or older may attend by themselves.
Upon successful completion, you will receive a Boating Safety Certificate recognized by New York State!
$75 per student. You will receive a downloadable student textbook.
When: June 15, 16, 22, and 23 from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM. You must attend all four sessions.
To register: just enter your name, email, and "Boating Safety Class" in the Message box below and click Register. We will reply to you.