Boating Safety Class
Our Boating Safety Class exceeds New York State certification requirements.
Taking a boating class reduces your risk of accidents and injuries, and may save you money on boat insurance.
You’ll learn about boating laws and regulations as well as boat registration and licensing. You will get in-depth knowledge of boating safety equipment, and gain practical knowledge of navigation, rules of the road, handling emergencies and mechanical problems on the water, the basics of towing and trailering, boat types, boat engines, and boat selection.
Our 16-hour boating class includes a comprehensive introduction to boating, covering important information for boaters, hunters, anglers, water sports enthusiasts, and personal watercraft operators.
The Introduction to Navigation class gives you virtual "hands on" training in the art of piloting your boat from one place to another safely and confidently. Learn how to read a chart, a compass and your GPS while working to get to your destination accurately. This class will leave you with a fuller understanding of our address on the planet Earth.
Who needs a Boating Safety Certificate?
Under a new law, known as Brianna's Law, all motorboat operators:
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024.
All motorboat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025.
Anyone operating a Personal Watercraft (JetSki™, Wave Runner™, etc.) must have a boating safety certificate, and be at least 14 years of age or older.
Children must be at least 10 years old to attend. Children between 10 and 12 must be accompanied by a parent or other adult. Children who are 13 or older may attend by themselves.
Upon successful completion, you will receive a Boating Safety Certificate recognized by New York State!
$75 per student. You will receive a downloadable student textbook.
We will contact you when we have 5 or more people have registered. The course is limited to 25 people and will be given on four consecutive Saturdays.
Day 1 (8:00 AM to 1:00 PM), Boating Safety
Day 2 (8:00 AM to 3:00 PM), Boating Safety + Exam
Day 3 (8:00 AM to 1:00 PM), Introduction to Navigation
Day 4 (8:00 AM to 1:00 PM), Introduction to Navigation
Requires Zoom and OpenCPN (free chartplotter software) and the ability to use both in class.
To register: just enter your name, email, and "Boating Safety Class" in the Message box below and click Register. We will reply to you.